June 2008 • Vol. 87: No. 3 : Around the Arch

Best in show

A Bark Out to

Professors Brent Berlin and Elois Ann Berlin, who were named recipients of the 2008 Distinguished Economic Botanist Award, the highest honor for professionals from the national Society for Economic Botany.

… Education professor Stacey Neuharth-Pritchett, who was named to the Head Start Program Performance Standards Review panel by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.
Andy Horne

… Interim College of Education Dean Andy Horne, who received a Many Faces of Counseling Psychology Award at the International Conference of Counseling Psychology in March.

The Georgia Review, which was a finalist for a 2008 National Magazine Award in the General Excellence category.

… Counseling professor Linda Campbell, who was named a Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association’s Society of Counseling Psychology division.
Pamela O. Paisley

… Professor Pamela O. Paisley, coordinator of the school counseling program in the College of Education, who received the David K. Brooks Jr. Distinguished Mentor Award from the American Counseling Association Foundation.

… Counseling professor Anneliese Singh, who received the 2008 Ohana Award from the Counselors for Social Justice.
Jeffrey L. Bennetzen

Jeffrey L. Bennetzen, Norman and Doris Giles Professor of Molecular Biology and Functional Genomics and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar at UGA, who received a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship.

The UGA Press, which received the 2008 Governor’s Award in the Humanities.

Jeremy Kilpatrick, Regents Professor of mathematics education, who received the 2007 Felix Klein Medal from the International Commission on Mathematical Instruction.

Old College, which received an Excellence in Rehabilitation Award from the Georgia Trust for Historic Preservation.

… the UGA community, which received a Fox McCarthy Certificate of Achievement from the Georgia WaterWise Council for reducing water consumption on campus by 21 percent.