UGA’s Campus

The university’s main campus in Athens, Georgia, covers 605 acres and includes 313 buildings. To its north, the campus adjoins historic downtown Athens, which features many boutiques, restaurants, entertainment, and service businesses. The university covers 4,308 acres in Clarke County and owns a total of 43,261 acres throughout the state.

North Campus

The famous Arch is located on historic North Campus. Centuries-old buildings including the Chapel, Old College, New College, the Law School and the Main Library, are nestled among majestic oaks on the original campus quadrangle. The Tate Student Center, the UGA Bookstore, and the heralded Sanford Stadium are located in the heart of campus.

South Campus

The South Campus area of the university is home to a variety of departments, mostly scientific and mathematical in nature. The two exceptions are Aderhold Hall, which houses the College of Education, and Tucker Hall, home to the School of Social Work. South Campus includes Science Row, which is home to a number of science classes; Conner Hall, home to the College of Agriculture and Environmental Science; and Boyd Graduate Research Center, home to the departments of mathematics and computer science and to the Graduate School Admissions Office. Three of UGA’s professional schools, the College of Pharmacy, the College of Veterinary Medicine and the College of Engineering, are also located there. South Campus is also home to several athletic facilities, including Stegeman Coliseum and the Butts-Mehre Heritage Hall, home of the Athletic Association and a sports museum.

West Campus

The area known as West Campus at the University of Georgia is home to a variety of residence halls including Oglethorpe House Residence Hall and Dining Commons, the Hill Community,consisting of five smaller residence halls and the Colonial Community, featuring Brumby, Russell and Creswell high-rise residence halls. Bolton Dining Hall, the largest of the three dining halls on campus is located there. The Student Learning Center and a variety of campus organizations are located along Lumpkin Street.

East Campus

The newest section to the university, East Campus is home to the Performing and Visual Arts complex, featuring the state of Georgia’s official art museum, the Georgia Museum of Art. The university’s 5.5 acre workout center and home to the School of Health and Human Performance, the Ramsey Center for Physical Activities anchors East Campus. The Visitors Center and the Edgar L. Rhodes Animal Science Center, home to the animal and dairy science department and animal cloner Steve Stice are also located on East Campus.

Extended Campuses

The University of Georgia’s main campus in Athens offers undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees in 16 different schools and colleges to more than 33,000 students.  Again this year, U.S. News & World Report ranked UGA among the nation’s top 20 public universities.  

UGA’s Gwinnett Campus offers a variety of graduate degree programs, plus continuing education programs for professional development.  Students study at a convenient location, just off I-85 in Lawrenceville.

UGA’s Griffin Campus offers eight undergraduate degree-completion programs, as well as two graduate degrees.  Bachelor’s degrees may be earned through upper-division programs open to transfer students or those seeking a second bachelor’s degree. 

UGA’s Tifton Campus currently offers a bachelor’s degree in agriculture in three majors (upper-division programs open to transfer students), as well as two graduate degrees.

UGA’s Terry College of Business campus in Atlanta’s Buckhead community offers two MBA programs geared toward mid- to senior-level professionals – providing them the opportunity to earn an MBA without interrupting their careers. 

State funds complemented by liberal private gifts, grants from foundations, and federal grants continue to increase the building program on campus.