The University of Georgia

Points of Pride


Excellence and balance have been trademarks of UGA athletics. Athletic teams have won 30 national championships, including 20 since 1999. The championships include: nine in women’s gymnastics (1987, 1989, 1993, 1998, 1999, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008); six in men’s tennis (1985, 1987, 1999, 2001, 2007 and 2008); four in women’s swimming and diving (1999, 2000, 2001, 2005); three in women’s tennis (1994, 2000, 2008); two in football (1942, 1980); three in women’s equestrian (2003, 2004, 2008); two in men’s golf (1999, 2005); and one each in baseball (1990) and women’s golf (2001).
UGA is 10th in the 2008 Directors’ Cup standings, the annual ranking of the nation’s best all-around collegiate athletics programs.
The UGA Athletic Association supports the University’s high educational goals for students through an ongoing $1 million pledge for academic scholarships, and an additional commitment of $1 million to be used at the University’s discretion. The Vincent J. Dooley Library Endowment Fund, established by UGA’s former athletic director, totals more than $2.9 million.
Sports Illustrated ranked UGA 6th on its list of best colleges for women athletes. UGA has more than 250 female athletes on its 12 women’s varsity teams, and also has 27 club sports for women.
The 76,481 fans who watched the women’s Olympic Gold Medal soccer game in Sanford Stadium Aug. 1, 1996, was at the time the largest number of people ever to attend a women’s sports event.
Swimmer Samantha Arsenault won the NCAA Today's Top VIII Award in 2006. Presented by the NCAA Honors Committee, the award recognizes the nation's top eight student athletes for outstanding achievement in athletics, academics and leadership. This was the seventh time that a UGA student athlete received this honor. Previous UGA recipients are the late Lisa Coole (swimming, 1997), Matt Stinchcomb (football, 1998), Debbie Ferguson (track, 1999), Kristy Kowal (swimming, 2000), Kimberly Black (swimming, 2001) and Jon Stinchcomb (football, 2002). Football player Terry Hoage won the honor in 1984 when it was called the NCAA TOP VI Award.
Kristy Kowal and Kimberly Black also were chosen NCAA Woman of the Year in 2000 and 2001 in recognition of excellence in athletics, academics and community service. The late Lisa Coole won the honor in 1997.